Edenton wins AAC wrestling championship

Aces claim title for second consecutive season


From staff reports

Friday, January 18, 2019

MANTEO — The John A. Holmes wrestling team defeated Manteo 47-18 Wednesday at Manteo High School.

With the win Edenton clinched the Albemarle Athletic Conference championship for the second consecutive season and earned a berth into the North Carolina High School Athletic Association Class 1A dual team state playoff field.

Edenton defeated Manteo in a conference match Dec. 12.

The Aces earned wins from Riddick White, Aaron Jones, Chase Ward, Emarion Rountree, Jordan Huerta, Jonathan Salinas, Dezmontre Gilliam, Javarion White and Tyrese McCleese.

William Pendelton, Ryan McOwen and Caden Clark were winners for Manteo.

The first and second rounds of the NCHSAA dual team state playoffs is Tuesday, Jan. 29.