Edenton Steamers in new Coastal Plain League division

Steamers logo.jpg

Edenton Steamers logo


From staff reports

Thursday, October 26, 2017

The Coastal Plain League an­nounced the 2018 sea­son sched­ule on Thurs­day.

Edenton opens the season at home on May 31 against Holly Springs.

Along with the sched­ule re­lease, the league announced new divisions.

With the ad­di­tion of the Ma­con Ba­con, the CPL now has four di­vi­sions with four teams in each division.

The divisions are the North, South, East and West.

Previously the league was split in two divisions.

The Clams will be in the new CPL North Division.

The new North Di­vi­sion will in­clude Eden­ton, Martinsville, Penin­sula and Wil­son.

In previous seasons, the Clams were in the CPL East Divi­sion.

The league also announced that the reg­u­lar sea­son was reduced from 56 to 52 games.

The Petitt Cup Playoffs will now include two rounds of single-elimination contests with the Petitt Cup Final remaining as a best-of-three series.