Winfall seeking to fill vacant council seat


Debbie Jean Whedbee


By Peter Williams
The Perquimans Weekly

Thursday, May 31, 2018

WINFALL — The town of Winfall is seeking applicants for a vacant town council seat after a member of the board stepped down recently.

Town Councilor Debbie Jean Whedbee resigned earlier this month because she moved outside Winfall’s corporate limits.

Whedbee, a two-term councilor who was just re-elected to a new term last November, could not be reached for comment for this story.

Mayor Fred Yates said Whedbee would be missed.

“She has been a blessing to the town,” Yates said. “I can’t say enough good things about her.”

Councilor Ken Rominger, who also was re-elected last November, agrees the four-member town board will miss Whedbee.

“We’re going to miss her,” he said. “She did a lot of things in the background like setting up programs.”

Whedbee served as chairwoman of the town’s beautification committee. Rominger said Whedbee was a driving force behind the planting of trees along Wiggins Road.

Rominger said that in a small town — Winfall’s population was 594 according to the 2010 Census — town council members have to do a lot of work that elected officials in bigger towns and cities don’t.

“We don’t have a staff,” he said. “Your council members take on the roles.”

Besides Rominger, Winfall’s remaining town councilors are Preston Tyrone White and Steav Congdon.

Winfall town councilors are paid $45 a month.

“You have to want to get involved,” Rominger said. “It’s not a money-making job.”

Rominger said while Whedbee has left public office, she has promised to stay active in Winfall’s affairs.

“She’s just moving outside the town limits,” Rominger said. “She still plans to take part in the other things Winfall does.”

The town of Winfall is currently advertising for applicants to fill the vacancy on the town board. 

The only qualifications for the office are being a resident of the town, at least 21 years old and having a high school diploma or GED equivalent.

Resumes are due at town hall by June 8.